Let’s Get Personal

image

First blog post so here goes…I have created this as an incentive for myself but hopefully to inspire & encourage others along the way.


At the end of 2014 I picked up a groin injury which stopped me in my tracks completely. It took around 8 months to diagnose the issue & in this time I was honestly beginning to believe I would never be able to compete again or even run or swim comfortably, which is pretty difficult to explain how this affected me.

Almost by chance after countless consultations with many sports doctors I found myself having a consultation with a Professor David M Lloyd, who seemed to have the answer which involved a fairly new surgery known as the Lloyd Release Procedure which if you want to know more details I would recommend Dr Lloyds website (http://www.lloydrelease.com). In September 2015 I underwent this surgery successfully.

However with my confidence at rock bottom & having no belief or trust in my body I knew I needed to change the way I was training & do things properly this time! Meaning lots of physio/rehabilitation & sensible & structured training plans!

Feeling so close to never being able to do what you love really makes you appreciate what you can do (I have to tell myself this when I’m pushing myself to the limits in training and competition) & trust me, it really does work!

So this blog is here for people who need to know there is light at the end of the tunnel & although my body still isn’t perfect I am working daily to improve & hopefully better myself.


I will be blogging on my sporting journey including training plans, competition reviews across all my disciplines, along with nutritional & gear reviews.

Leave a Reply

